What’s the 2020 Maryland Minimum Wage?

 In Minimum Wage

New minimum wage laws mean more cash for workers in Maryland. But what is the minimum wage right now? And when is it scheduled to increase?

Our guide to the 2020 minimum wage in Maryland answers these questions and more.

What’s the 2020 minimum wage in Maryland?

As of January 1, 2020, the minimum wage in Maryland is $11.00 per hour.

Workers in Prince George’s County and Montgomery County enjoy an even higher minimum wage – $11.50 in Prince George’s County, $12.50–$13.00 in Montgomery County.

Maryland State Minimum Wage Rates

15 or more employees:
$9.25 Effective 7/1/17
$10.10 Effective 7/1/18
$11.00 Effective 1/1/20
$11.75 Effective 1/1/21
$12.50 Effective 1/1/22
$13.25 Effective 1/1/23
$14.00 Effective 1/1/24
$15.00 Effective 1/1/25

14 or fewer employees:
$9.25 Effective 7/1/17
$10.10 Effective 7/1/18
$11.00 Effective 1/1/20
$11.60 Effective 1/1/21
$12.20 Effective 1/1/22
$12.80 Effective 1/1/23
$13.40 Effective 1/1/24
$14.00 Effective 1/1/25
$14.60 Effective 1/1/26
$15.00 Effective 7/1/26

Montgomery County Minimum Wage Rates
$9.55 Effective 10/1/15
$10.75 Effective 7/1/16
$11.50 Effective 7/1/17
$12.00 – $12.25 Effective 7/1/18
$12.50 – $13.00 Effective 7/1/19
$13.25 – $14.00 Effective 7/1/20

Prince George’s County Minimum Wage Rates
$9.55 Effective 10/1/15
$10.75 Effective 10/1/16
$11.50 Effective 10/1/17

Who’s entitled to the Maryland minimum wage?

Many (if not most) employees in Maryland are protected by the Maryland Wage and Hour Law. (See common exemptions and exceptions.)

And just because an employee receives a salary does not mean he or she is not entitled to the Maryland minimum wage! Generally speaking, if you divide your weekly salary by your weekly hours worked, you should get a number that is equal to or higher than the minimum wage.

What about Maryland overtime and wage payment laws?

See our guide to overtime and wage payment laws in Maryland for an overview of Maryland’s wage and hour laws, along with common exemptions and exceptions, and full texts of the laws.

What to Do If You’re Paid Below the Minimum Wage

If you have ever received a wage that is below the state or local minimum wage, you may be entitled to 3x what you’re owed under Maryland law.

Contact us now for a free and confidential case evaluation.

mm
Justin started DCWageLaw for one principal reason: Workers who are not being paid properly deserve to have the best possible legal representation. He has litigated over 200 cases in state and federal court, most involving wage and hour issues.

Start typing and press Enter to search