What’s the 2019 Montgomery County Minimum Wage?

 In Minimum Wage

Many workers in Montgomery County do not get paid the minimum wage required by Montgomery County law. The Montgomery County Code requires employers to pay almost all workers employed in the county the Montgomery County minimum wage.

What is the 2019 Montgomery County Minimum Wage?

As of July 1, 2019, the current Montgomery County minimum wage is $12.50–$13.00 per hour.

The Montgomery County minimum wage law requires employers to pay eligible employees the following rates:

Montgomery County Minimum Wage Schedule
Effective Date Minimum Wage Rate
10/1/2015 $9.55
7/1/2016 $10.75
7/1/2017 $11.50
7/1/18 (Small & Mid-Sized Employers) $12.00
7/1/18 (Large Employers) $12.25
7/1/19 (Small & Mid-Sized Employers) $12.50
7/1/19 (Large Employers) $13.00
7/1/20 (Small & Mid-Sized Employers) $13.25
7/1/20 (Large Employers) $14.00

Who’s entitled to the Montgomery County minimum wage?

If you work in Montgomery County, you are probably entitled to receive the Montgomery County minimum wage. That’s right: most employees who work in Montgomery County should receive the Montgomery County minimum wage.

The Montgomery County minimum wage law provides for few exceptions. If you are a worker excluded from the minimum wage requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act or the Maryland Wage and Hour Law, if you are under 19 years old and work 20 or less hours per week, if you work for a governmental unit other than Montgomery County, or if your employer has fewer than two employees, then you are not entitled to the Montgomery County minimum wage.

What is the Montgomery County Minimum Wage for Tipped Employees?

Under the Montgomery County law, certain tipped employees may only be entitled to a “minimum tipped wage” or “tipped minimum wage” of $4.00 per hour. Confusing? Don’t worry.

What you need to know is this: under certain circumstances, an Montgomery employer may pay a worker who receives tips the following hourly rates:

Montgomery County Minimum Tipped Wage Schedule
Effective Date Minimum Tipped Wage Rate
7/1/2014 $3.63
1/1/2015 $4.00

What to Do If You’re Paid Below the Minimum Wage

If you have ever received a wage that is below the state or local minimum wage, you may be entitled to 3x what you’re owed under Maryland law.

Contact us now for a free and confidential case evaluation.

Photo by Montgomery County Planning Commission

mm
Justin started DCWageLaw for one principal reason: Workers who are not being paid properly deserve to have the best possible legal representation. He has litigated over 200 cases in state and federal court, most involving wage and hour issues.

Start typing and press Enter to search